The garden is open to the public and offers a safe place for visitors of all ages and abilities to relax or explore. Visitors can always enjoy a welcome cup of tea and slice of cake in the Garden Tea Room.
When the weather is fine, the garden is often used as a venue for family activities, school visits and seasonal events.
The garden is 100 metres long and extends from the back door of the historic house to the Mill Stream. It is part of a medieval burgage plot, which was created by town planners in the 1200s.
In 1687, the gentleman of the house, John Bowdidge, might have relaxed or entertained guests here. During the 1700s, the garden also included an orchard. By the 1900s, part of the garden was a working space for the Coles family and the whitesmith’s forge was used to repair pots and pans as part of the ironmonger’s business.
The present layout of flowerbeds and lawns was developed largely by Blanche Coles and her daughter, Hilda. Today, you can find many traditional fruit trees as well as quinces, a medlar, a walnut tree and a black mulberry.